Steven Lee Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship: Deadline March 31, 2019


The Steven Lee Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship: Deadline March 31, 2019

About the Award:

A travel stipend of $500 will be awarded to a graduate student, recent PhD, or precariously employed member who wishes to present work at the SALSA sesquiannual meetings. This award honors the intellectual legacy of Steven Lee Rubenstein (1962-2012), whose scholarship on Lowland South American society integrates political economy and critical theory, psychoanalysis and post-structuralist feminist theory. Submissions should relate to the study of Lowland South American anthropology and further Rubenstein’s research agenda into contrasting systems of power, gender, shamanism, racism and/or education.

Criteria and Eligibility:
Applicants must be graduate students, recent PhDs, or precariously employed members whose work furthers the research interests of the Award’s namesake. We define the term ‘graduate student’ as an individual who a) is currently enrolled in a graduate program in anthropology; b) is currently in a post-doctoral student position; or c) was awarded their most recent degree within the nine months prior to the submission date and does not yet hold a teaching post. The candidate must be the first or sole author of a paper that will be presented at the SALSA meetings and be a member of SALSA in good standing. Travel grants will not be awarded to any individual more than once.

Candidates should submit a cover letter, current cv, and abstract of paper. The cover letter should include: a) current employment/student and membership status, and b) a description (of no more than 500 words) of the relationship of  the paper to the legacy of Steven Rubenstein.  All documents should be submitted as .doc or .pdf attachments and electronically mailed to Janet Chernela ( and Daniela Peluso ( by March 31st, 2019. Applications will be reviewed by the awards committee and candidates informed of the results by May 1, 2019.

Past recipients:

2017 – Courtney Stafford-Walter

2016 –  Guilherme Orlandini Heurich

Donate to the Steven Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship