Whitten Publication Subvention Award

The Norm and Sibby Whitten Publication Subvention Award

Whitten Publication Subvention

The Whitten Publication Subvention Award is designed to assist with the publication of original monographs and peer-reviewed articles that make an important contribution to anthropological scholarship on lowland South America or to the discipline more generally. Each year and while funds are available, SALSA will offer one subvention to offset the costs of publication of a monograph.
An Award can be applied to the following purposes: publication subvention for monographs; publication subvention for gold open access peer-reviewed articles; proofreading and language-checking of monographs and articles.


Calls for applications

The Whitten Publication Subvention Award 2020 (Application deadline: November 30, 2020)
The Whitten Publication Subvention Award 2019 (Application deadline: November 30, 2019)

Past recipients

2020 – An award was given to three publications by Douglas Campelo; Christina Callicott and Marco Sangama Cachay; and Juan Rivera Andía
2019 – Lucas Keese dos Santos, for “A esquiva do xondaro – movimento e ação política entre os Guarani Mbya.”
2018Daniela Fernandes Alarcon (for “O retorno da terra: as retomadas na aldeia Tupinambá da Serra do Padeiro, sul da Bahia”) and Giovanna Bacchiddu (for “Gente de Isla. Una etnografía de Chiloé”).
2017 – There were no regular applications for this award in 2017. The Board agreed to provide exceptional awards to Hau Books for the publication of Terry Turner’s The Fire of the Jaguar ($5000), and to SHARE-Amazónica in support of their Classic Anthropology Series ($3000).

Selection committee

2020, 2019 – Minna Opas, Elizabeth Ewart, and César Ceriani
2018 – Minna Opas, Elizabeth Ewart, and Luisa Elvira Belaunde