Norm and Sibby Whitten Research Fund

Whitten Research Fund

The Norm and Sibby Whitten Research Fund

The Norm and Sibby Whitten Research Fund supports pre-project travel grants for master and doctoral students in the early formulation of their field research. This Grant-in-Aid is to initiate contact and collaborative working relationships with partner institutions and scholars, as well as with local communities. It can both facilitate contacts with local communities for the purpose of acquiring any necessary permissions for the future research and to initiate fieldwork.

Preference is given to research projects in lowland South America that reflect the work and themes of Norman (Norm) and Dorothea (Sibby) Whitten, including, but not restricted to, topics such as Indigenous cosmologies, Indigenous knowledge-production, aesthetics and arts, health, gender, interculturality, cultural transformations, and histories of the present.

The Norm and Sibby Whitten Research Fund Calls for applications

Whitten Research Fund Past recipients


Meredith Cristina Castro Rios (FLACSO Ecuador), Joan Gutiérrez Rodríguez (UNAL-Amazonia, Colombia), Alcineis Acate Peres (PPGAS-UFAM, Brazil), Alexandra Reichert (Vanderbilt U., USA), Carolina Rodriguez Alzza (U. of Texas, Austin, USA).


Ana Felicien Pérez (UFPA, Brazil), Ana Judith Blanco Rojas (UNAL-Amazonia, Colombia), Cristian Erazo Romero (U. of St. Andrews, Scotland), Mariana Furtado (UFSC, Brazil), Rui Harayama (UFSC, Brazil), Sidney Castillo (U. of Helsinki, Finland), Victor Amante (UFRJ, Brazil).


Edna Carolina Mayorga Sánchez (UFRJ, Brazil), Karen Lorena Romero Leal (U. of Florida, USA), Jesús Anzualdo Contreras (PUCP, Peru), Grzegorz Palka (U. of St. Andrews, Scotland).


Maria Ximena Flores Rojas (UFRJ, Brazil), Blanca Yagüe Pascual (U. of Utah, USA), and Ronaldo de Queiroz Lima (UFBA, Brazil).


Helen Palma Pinedo (UFSC, Brazil) and Michael Southwood (U. of St. Andrews, Scotland).


Lorena França Reis e Silva (UFSC, Brazil).


Gabriel Torrealba (Southern Illinois University)

Selection committee

2023-2024 – Chris Jarrett (chair), Giovanna Bacchiddu, Artionka Capiberibe, Paul Codija

2022-2023 – Pirjo Kristiina Virtanen (chair), Giovanna Bacchiddu, Artionka Capiberibe, Chris Jarrett, James Whitaker

2020-2021 – Pirjo Kristiina Virtanen (chair), Giovanna Bacchiddu, Chris Jarrett, and James Whitaker

2019-2020 – Richard Reed (chair), Pirjo Kristiina Virtanen, James Whitaker and Giovanna Bacchiddu

2018-2019 – Richard Reed (chair), Renzo Duin, and Esther Jean Langdon

2017-2018 – Richard Reed (chair), Renzo Duin, and Esther Jean Langdon