Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship

The Steven Lee Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship

Rubenstein Memorial ScholarshipThe Steven Lee Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship honors the intellectual legacy of Steven Lee Rubenstein (1962-2012), whose scholarship on Lowland South American society integrates political economy and critical theory, psychoanalysis and post-structuralist feminist theory. For every SALSA conference since 2016, a travel stipend has been awarded to a graduate student, recent PhD, or precariously employed member who wishes to present their work at the SALSA sesquiannual meetings. This award  Submissions relate to the study of Lowland South American anthropology and further Rubenstein’s research agenda into contrasting systems of power, gender, shamanism, racism and/or education.
We define the term ‘graduate student’ as an individual who a) is currently enrolled in a graduate program in anthropology; b) is currently in a post-doctoral student position; or c) was awarded their most recent degree within the nine months prior to the submission date and does not yet hold a teaching post. The candidate must be the first or sole author of a paper that will be presented at the SALSA meetings and be a member of SALSA in good standing. Travel grants will not be awarded to any individual more than once.

Calls for applications

Steven Lee Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship 2023 (application deadline: April 28, 2023)

The Steven Lee Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship 2021 was paused as the 2021 conference was virtual.

Steven Lee Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship 2019 (application deadline: March 31, 2019)

Steven Lee Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship 2015 (application deadline: October 31, 2015)

Past recipients of the Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship

2019 – Juana Valentina Nieto

2017 – Courtney Stafford-Walter

2016 –  Guilherme Orlandini Heurich

Selection committee

Peter Gow was also a member of this committee.