FUNAI Recognizes Indigenous Territories (4.19.16)

FUNAI recognizes four indigenous territoriesFUNAI Recognizes Four Indigenous Territories

On Tuesday, April 19, 2016 (Dia do Índio), and after years of delay and political intrigue, FUNAI published official reports recognizing four indigenous territories:

  • TI Sawré Muybu in Pará (Munduruku)
  • TI Ypoi/Triunfo in Mato Grosso do Sul (Guarani Kaiowa)
  • TI Sambaqui in Paraná (Guarani Mbya)
  • TI Jurubaxi-Téa in Amazonas (vários povos)

There have also been nearly a dozen quilombo communities in Pará, Amazonas, Maranhão that have been published/recognized in the Diário da União. While official recognition is not the end of the road–all of these territories still need to be homologized and demarcated, and must first withstand a 180 day period in which appeals can be registered–these are important milestones nevertheless. Read complete text…

An overview of these recent actions is available here.

Contributors: Glenn Shepard and Jeremy Campbell.

Photography: Cacique Juarez, from the village Sawré Muybu, at TI Sawré Muybu. Photo: Joka Madruga

Check more Public Issues News!